top of page

Ensemble Da Camera Freiburg

Founded in 2007 by Claire Garde and Stephanie Gurga, the Ensemble Da Camera Freiburg is an ensemble of varying size and instrumental composition focusing on performing chamber music on historical instruments. The ensemble musicians are specialists in historical performance practice, while also pursuing performance on modern instruments, exploring early baroque repertoire through the most contemporary compositions. Their convivial musical communication, often lauded by the press, as well as their intense expressivity, transmits their passion to the public's approval.

The Ensemble Da Camera Freiburg performs in diverse festivals in France, Switzerland, and Germany.


Elena Abbati (violin), Claire Garde (flute / piccolo), Valentina Giusti (violin), Anne-Françoise Guézingar (viola), Stephanie Gurga (piano / harpsichord), Charlotte Mercier (violin), Alejandro Oloriz (cello), Giulio Padoin (cello), Fran Petrac (double bass), Pablo Salva Peralta (viola), Soko Yoshida (violin)

Da Camera Baroque

L'Ensemble Da Camera Freiburg  proposes a program of baroque overtures and concertos on historical instruments. Opening the program is Bach’s B minor orchestral Suite : a succession of lively character dances, in which the traverse flute is featured as soloist, supported by string orchestra and basso continuo. The auditor is invited to continue their musical voyage to the court of Potsdam with the Quantz G major flute concerto, QV 5:174, As Quantz was the royal concert organiser to King Frederic II of Prussia, Quantz very quickly engagement the virtuoso harpsichordist (and son of J.S Bach), Carl Philipp Emmanuel Bach. It is from this rencontre that the C.P.E. Bach flute concerto in D minor Wq 22 was created, and it is thus that the concerto naturally finds its place into our concert program.

Quatuor Da Camera


L'Ensemble Da Camera Freiburg is happy to propose an original chamber music program in the formation of flute with string trio. This ensemble, thus Quatuor Da Camera, interprets on these occasions these emotionally varied and contrasting works which are heard quite rarely to the public.

For the occasion of the 250th birthday of L. v. Beethoven (1770-1827), the quartet presents the Serenade op. 25. This six-movement suite offers us treasures of the ingenuity of Beethoven. Without the traditional support of the cello, Beethoven’s work is subtle, giving a particular colour to this piece which presents both an intimate atmosphere combined with fiery brio. The Trio op. 40 of A. Roussel (1869-1937) continues this program: a French composer who was educated at the Paris Schola Cantorum, his style clearly combines neo-classicism with late-romanticism. With particularly virtuosic viola and cello parts, as well as surprising harmonies and jazz-like rhythms, the works recalls the colours of D’Indy as well as even Debussy. Finally, this musical evening finishes with Mozart’s great Flute Quartet in D major, the chef d’oeuvre of this repertoire.

bottom of page